PACKING (for) HEAT

I’m not going to claim to be great at packing – I’m 100% going to open my suitcase on Monday and realise I have left something behind – however I am pretty good at cramming lots of clothes into a small bag. Once I went on a week long ski trip in Italy and packed everything I needed into my hand luggage backpack.  So, as I started to fill my suitcase (predominantly with shorts, t-shirts and my ridiculously sized shoes) I was confident it would all be fine and after a bit of pushing and shoving the zip was closed… success.

I AM THE KING OF PACKING.

After a quick consultation with my girlfriend Lucie it was decided that filling my case to breaking point was possibly not the best decision especially as I will have to repack it on four separate occasions before coming home. A new suitcase was required.

I AM THE KING OF NOTHING.

Fortunately this was a very simple task, due to what I believe will become a running theme Lucie had already done the leg work, having searched out and got herself a new suitcase earlier in the week. I just needed a quick trip to Tesco, and after spending about five minutes repeatedly picking it up and saying “it really is super light” I had my new case, success.

I AM THE KING OF SHOPPING. (When I’m shopping for a product that my girlfriend has already purchased and she drives me to the shop and also directs me to the part of the shop where the product is.)

Fitting all my stuff in the new case took only a few minutes and I had plenty of room left to add in last minute toiletries and chargers. There is even a little room for holiday purchases. I wonder if  America sells Unicum?

After that first successful shopping trip I did a quick inventory and came up with this mighty final list of thing to get before we leave.

  1. Sun Glasses
  2. Trainer socks

At the age of twenty eight I still don’t feel responsible enough to own nice/mediocre sunglasses, but good old Primark took care of this issue. I handed over one crisp £5 note in exchange for thee pairs of ‘aviators’ with various coloured lenses.

Trainer socks on the other hand are a bit of an alien concept. I love wearing shorts during the slightest hint of sunshine and I’m a big proponent of shorts and a jumper if its a bit windy. When wearing shoes and shorts you will most likely see a stripy blue sock around my left ankle and a stripy orange sock around my right. I have just accepted that this is how my lower legs look. However, in an attempt to smarten myself up slightly for the Big Apple, trainer socks have been added to my travel wardrobe.

Look out America, Hovis means business.same socks

 

 

One thought on “PACKING (for) HEAT

Leave a comment